And now for something completely different…

26/12/2012

complete

 Tiraz bands for the 12th century riding coat that I’m making. Using this as a guideline for the general pattern (because my favourite hobby is to extrapolate patterns from pictures, and then feel like I want to stab myself in the eye with my needle. But I digress.) Placement of the bands I’m basing on this.

right

left

Split stitch, linen cotton on linen, with a bit of satin stitch for the blue bands. Design based on this, with minor changes. There’s not really much else to say, except that for a change, my fingers were not bleeding after I’d completed that part.

(Clicking on pictures should embiggen them, if you really want to see every detail of my horribly uneven work.)

ETA 19/2/2012:

 IMG_0298 IMG_0299 IMG_0297 IMG_0296 IMG_0295 IMG_0294 IMG_0293 IMG_0292 IMG_0300

So yeah. Animals from this 12th century mirror.

3 thoughts on “And now for something completely different…

  1. are you actually going to ride in it? It’s just that satin stitch catches on everything, I’d advise an appliqued strip of blue linen instead, either fabric or the linen tapes of the type quartermasterie sell. The design is quite pretty though

    1. Probably not, as horses make me not breathe. Woo, allergies. If I ever find out what I’ve done to the rest of the material, I’m gonna put holes in the armpits, though. I hear that’s the thing to do.
      Shall keep that in mind about satin stitch for the future.
      Also, glad you like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

